Ken in Edinburgh

Ken writes:

Well, I’ve made it safely to Edinburgh. I’m studying for a Diploma in Brewing and Distilling at Heriot Watt University. The campus is very attractive, with lots of large trees and artificial lakes and things. The buildings are all reassuringly 80s vintage or so. The campus is on the outskirts of town, but I’ve taken the bus into Edinburgh already to get some things for my self-catered flat in the halls of residence. There was a bed, a desk, a wardrobe but almost nothing else. No coat hangers, no toilet paper. No bed linen or duvet. No crockery. No cutlery. No pots and pans. When I first arrived, I had some difficulty getting the internet connection sorted, but that’s all in order now. One nice touch was the vodafone pay as you go sim card and a box of junk food that I found on my desk as a freshers week welcoming present. I need to go buy a top up to use it though. I’ll post a photo of my room as soon as I can get my phone talking to this old laptop.

bye bye for now.

5 thoughts on “Ken in Edinburgh

  1. Dot

    It does look small, doesn’t it. He can always poke his feet out the window. Anyway, it will keep him thinking fondly of the comforts of home…

  2. laura

    Hooray! Bear School. I think it’s a good sign that they left you a welcome crate of snacks. Junk food can serve a vital purpose in helping one adjust to a new home.

    1. kenanddot

      I did find the junk food useful I have to say, but I’m back on baking bread now. I’ve got some dough rising next to me as I type.

  3. dieta

    We were on vacation in Edinburgh, Scotland last month, and it was a blast. Being there really brought home the fact that Edinburgh is truly Britain’s second city of culture. There’s so much history, art, music, and, oh yeah, whisky, that we barely scratched the surface after five days, yet we did so many fun things while we were there. Here are few highlights from a week of imposing castles, cobblestone streets, cozy pubs, and lots of beer.

Leave a comment