liminal watch ticks

Ken writes: I’m in my office at my desk. My wristwatch is on the desk in front of me. I am reading an article on Ramsey sentences by Frank Jackson. The office is very quite. I can hear my watch tick faintly. It is after lunch. I put my elbows on the desk and rest my head in my hands.

And that is enough to make the ticking completely inaudible! The ticking is just on the limen of my auditory recepitivity. When I break the straight line between my watch and my closest ear, the thickness of my arm is enough to completely muffle the ticking sound.

This is an entirely trivial post.

Leave a Reply

