Arrived in Lodz

Ken writes:

I’m writing this from my room at the conference center of the University of Lodz in Poland.

I’m attending a conference on the philosophy of language and (philosophy of) linguistics.

So far my main impression is of my own woeful linguistic ignorance. I bought a Polish phrasebook last week, but I’m really hopeless. I can stumble out directions to the taxi driver, but cannot understand any response.

It’s ironic that so many philosophers of language are just as ignorant as I am about other languages.

Oh well, I hope I learn a lot while I’m here.

7 thoughts on “Arrived in Lodz

  1. laura

    Polish friends I’ve known always told me that most speak French as a second language more readily than English. Then again, the one roommate always
    seemed to be looking for new ways to insult me/Philadelphia/lack of culture in the US. Have you got the phrase for “repeat please”?

  2. kenanddot

    There is (French) subtitled French tv on the tv, but otherwise only Polish, so perhaps that bears that out.

    Another impression I’ve since formed is that you can tell you’re on the North European plain. It’s incredibly flat. i’m on the ninth floor and can see for miles. The streets are very wide and geometrical too. Very American looking.

    I’m half wondering if I will see the flatmate you mention at the conference. He is not on the programme.

  3. katimum

    Meanwhile, in the UK, your son Hugh is rapidly picking up a second language – Cat. He and Camellia are getting on very well indeed and seem to understand each other.

  4. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    Lord, I’d forgotten all about that article. Still I’m sure may of the Polynesian languages could afford to give generously.

    1. If there is to be a reallocation of letters, Ireland could do with some consonants. We are missing j,k,q,v,w,x,y and z. Though I have noticed the odd ‘v’ creeping into Irish spelling.

Leave a Reply

