A bheil Gáidhlig agad?

Ken writes:

About a year ago, I took delivery of Katherine Spadaro and Katie Graham’s “Colloquial Scottish Gaelic” from Routledge, which I got as part payment for doing a review for them. Perhaps it was a bit naughty asking for a non-philosophy book, since it was philosophy I was reviewing. At any rate, I never got their “Colloquial Irish Gaelic”, which I also requested.

K Spadaro and K Graham's Colloquial Scottish Gaelic
K Spadaro and K Graham's Colloquial Scottish Gaelic

I’ve finally got round to putting the associated CDs onto my iPod, so if I can convert my good intentions into action, I might start learning a bit of Scottish Gaelic again (I took a brief course in St Andrews in 2005). I know it’s not the variety normally spoken on this island, but it cannot but be a step in the right direction. And it will be a pleasant change from all the gloom we hear in English these days!

[update:)
I just remembered the other thing I wanted to say on this heading.
There is surely a large Scottish and Irish diaspora that comprise a market for products like this, who aren’t, lastly, all that serious about learning the language. These people are likely to attempt to learn it for purely nostalgic heritage reasons. This means they’re not really going to be too interested in how to buy tickets for the bus to Inverness (or what have you). Instead, they would be interested in learning the language in combination with learning the mythology and history of the language. The Irish version could, for example, structure lessons around the Cattle Raid of Cooley or Finn MacCool. The Scottish one could have lessons describing the rivalry between the Campbells and the MacDonalds and so on. This would combine learning the language with learning about the culture and would arguably be more interesting to the vast majority of this diaspora who will be learning the language in the USA and Canada and other places].

Leave a Reply

