Testing

Dot writes: am I the only parent who gets desperately nervous before developmental tests? I know they’re meant as a help – an opportunity to pick up any problems so the nice HSE people can say “we see your child would benefit from the early intervention programme, but we’ve just cut the funding” – but I’m afraid the signal they send to me is EXAM! EXAM! And it’s really important to pass exams, or preferably to come top in them (I was swotty at school), so I get really nervous and I try not to communicate my nervousness but at the same time secretly coach Hugh (and soon Frank, no doubt) by brightly exclaiming “look at the RED car!” when I see a red car and making him name his body parts and taking every opportunity to count things and… you get the picture. But he still did ok, which shows what fundamental strength of character he has. Even though his test this morning was scheduled just before nap time and then delayed, he cooperated quite nicely in attaching names to pictures and his speech was pronounced to be satisfactory for his age. He was also weighed and measured and is in the 75th percentile for both height and weight. I am pleased about this as I always worry that he is a little on the fat side; but evidently not, and hurrah for that. He didn’t get an opportunity to show off exotic words like “concrete” and “bulldozer” but never mind. There isn’t actually a bursary hanging on this.

3 thoughts on “Testing

  1. kenanddot

    An interesting example of healthcare being better in Ireland than in England. I must say, my experience of the maternity and early childhood services here has been positive, apart from that one brush with the chaos that is Crumlin (and even that involved a pretty good playroom). On the other hand you get only one statutory visit from the public health nurse. I had visits from the midwives daily for a week after Frank was born, but that is part of the homebirth service.

  2. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    Still I have absolutely no doubt that Amelia will be able to finish off a necklace, produce ten stitches to the inch quilting and technically perfect shaded buttonhole stitch, bid a vulnerable game, explain the difference between breaking and mutation as well as between the gerund and gerundive, and be far more mathematically competent than her grandmother by the age of eleven.
    On the last point, probably a lot sooner than that – nine, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

