Redundant and pleonastic expression

Ken writes:

The British airways regulator has accused Ryanair of being ‘puerile and childish’ according to the Irish Times headline. Actually, that is what the front page byline says. In the piece, they quote the regulator as saying “it’s quite puerile, it’s almost childish,” which is not quite the same.

Anyway, I find myself guilty of this sort of redundancy all the time. It’s like I’m unsure whether people will understand the ‘big’ word, so I put a common one in that says the same thing because I can’t bring myself to drop the big word entirely. I put a lot of effort into getting my education, so I want to use my five dollar college words when I can.

This is a species of cringe though, isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

