The infinite playlist

Dot writes: Emily O of Babyrambles has tagged us with a meme called the Infinite Playlist. We have to list the five songs we’d happily listen to over and over. This is an enjoyable one to ponder; surprisingly hard, too. On the one hand I find it hard to pick my favourites of the many songs I like. On the other, I enjoy variety and tend to find anything irritating after too much repetition. But here’s my provisional list. And I made Ken do one too (and he decided to embed videos where available, but I got picky about what I could find and only put up two of mine).

Dot’s list
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2
American Girl – Tom Petty
Envy of Angels – The Mutton Birds
Back on the Chain Gang – The Pretenders
Back in Black – AC/DC

Ken’s list

Sierra Leone – Coconut Rough

You can Go your own way – Fleetwood Mac

Where the Streets have no name – U2


Sunshine on Leith – The proclaimers


Into My Arms – Nick Cave

Now for the tags (no obligation, but we’d love to see your lists):
The Stone Blog
Jeremy at Vastbranch
Alice at the oddsock.com
If By Yes
Belgian Waffle
And, if they feel like swerving their blogs in a meme-y direction, Sarah S and Sarah F.

Update: and another tag – of course I should have asked Salty Miss Jill.

20 thoughts on “The infinite playlist

    1. kenanddot

      I decided it probably did. Or I’d have started with Siegfried’s funeral march (but that’s not even a song).

  1. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    I know I wasn’t invited, but (and allowing that the Ride of the Valkyries is out as well as selections from Countess Maritza and The Student Prince …)

    Witchy woman
    You’re so Vain
    A Whiter Shade of Pale
    Beyond the Blue Horizon
    Bye Bye Black Bird

    AES – do we share any?

    And from that play list would anyone like to try to guess what year I was born?
    Except AES who knows perfectly well.

      1. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

        HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN, RIGHT!
        I KNOW I COMMENTED ON YOURS FIRST – BUT I JUST KNEW …

    1. Dot

      Thanks for joining in! I would have tagged you if you had a blog. I don’t think you’d guess the year I was born from mine (but you know anyway).

    1. Dot

      We decided early on that I am Rock and Ken is Disco, but we’ve been together almost seven years now and we’ve certainly had plenty of time to find our common ground and influence each other. It was Ken who introduced me to The Mutton Birds and Envy of Angels was, I think, the first track of theirs he played me. It’s an album track and was never as far as I know a single – thus no YouTube clip. The Nick Cave track he’s listed was our first dance at our wedding (very appropriate for us: “I don’t believe in an interventionist God / But I know, darling, that you do”). We came up with the lists independently so it’s interesting we both chose U2 tracks from the same (admittedly wildly ubiquitous) album. AC/DC is the only trace here of my heavy rock period. I felt I had to have something loud and stomping in there.

      Thanks again for tagging us – this meme really is lots of fun.

  2. Man, that’s tough. There are albums full, that’s what my iPod is, my infinite playlist! Still, here is a selection of five definite favourites…

    Take On Me by a-ha
    Long Hot Summer Night by Jimi Hendrix
    Clara (St Kitt’s Woman) by Taj Mahal
    Turtle Dove Done Drooped His Wing by The Georgia Sea Island Singers
    Angel Band by The Clinch Mountain Boys

  3. Pingback: vastbranch.com - Experience This » Blog Archive » In Answer to Dot’s Tag…

  4. Lily Roth

    Oooh, Dot, I like your playlist! Strangely, “Back on the Chain Gang” always makes me feel rather comforted and optimistic…despite the sad wistful tone of the song. I have to confess that I was surprised to see Tom Petty’s “American Girl” on the list…I somehow always imagine that no one in Blightly likes Petty…he seems so very American. And I know all the hipsters love to hate U2 nowadays, but “Joshua Tree” is really a very good album.

    1. Dot

      Yes, I think Back on the Chain Gang has a cheery groove. An appropriate song for me now as I return to the academic coalface. I love Tom Petty and hesitated over a number of different tracks, but American Girl is the first one I ever heard and the one that drew me in to his music. In fact I first heard it on the soundtrack to Silence of the Lambs – it’s the song playing in the car of Buffalo Bill’s last victim just before he nabs her. I remember thinking what a great song it was as I cowered behind the sofa. (I am not good at scary films.)

      Liking U2 is particularly conflicted in Ireland. Not just because they are too popular to be cool, but because they are local boys and everybody has an opinion about what they should be doing differently (especially in the realm of tax residency).

  5. This looks like fun! Thanks for the tag – as soon as life resumes some ‘normalcy’ and the poor neglected blog gets a look-in, I’ll give it a go.

    Loved your song choices – you perpetually surprise me. Which is a great quality in a friend 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

