beer update

Ken writes:

I’ve been brewing since getting a kit for Christmas. I switched over to doing full mash brewing after the first two kits because it seemed more authentic somehow.

Here’s a couple of pictures of the results.
My first stout
My first ale

(This one is in a glass I acquired at the Reedham Village Beer festival last summer).

They’re both quite good, though there is still a lot of room for improvement. Neither one is really adequately carbonated, for one thing, and the ale seems a bit uneven, though this could partly be down to what I’m eating as an accompaniment.

I’ve got another couple of brews conditioning as well. One of them is a made up sort of affair that doesn’t fit any of the standard styles and last time I tried it, quite frankly was far too bitter. I’m hoping it mellows over time. The second is a repeat of the ale. I’ll be sure to bottle it with extra sugar to make sure there’s plenty of head on it.

4 thoughts on “beer update

  1. Katimum

    Well, we now have some Fuggles, Goldings and Challenger in the garden – already growing briskly but I doubt there will be a worthwhile harvest this year – but we hope to provide you with some hops in the future!

    I don’t think I had better start on barley – although the church does own a small field it finds difficult to rent out. Unfortunately it is so plagued by rabbits that it might produce more fur than fermentables.

  2. Chris

    Hello there. I have two questions – 1) Do you know what causes the red colour of your ale? It’s very impressive, and I’ve been suspicious when seeing such a red glow in commercially produced ales ever since someone told me that they’d been on a tour of the Fuller’s Brewery, and learnt that the red colour of London Pride is owing to food colouring. I take it that yours isn’t, so what’s the story?

    (2) Is there any chance of my sampling some while in Dublin for the Joint Session?

    Very best wishes,
    Chris

  3. kenanddot

    Hi Chris,
    there’ll be plenty here for you when you’re in Dublin again.

    The red colour comes from the type of malt. It’s a blend of ‘maris otter’ pale malt and a slightly roasted malt called crystal malt. I believe Fuller’s London Pride also uses those malts though I have only the vaguest idea what proportions they use. I added a form of processed irish moss to the kettle towards the end of the boil. That was intended to clarify the beer. That could be what your friend meant. Clarity is a necessary condition for the colour, which would look more like dishwater or thin dirty milk otherwise.

Leave a Reply

