Mummy’s boy

Dot writes:

Hugh is learning new social skills: flattery and emotional blackmail. He is practising on me.

A couple of evenings ago:
“I love you, Mummy.”
“I love you too, Hugh.”
“Your dress is lovely.”
“Why, thankyou.” (Looks down. Indeed, my skirt is currently free of squashed banana.)
“Are you a princess?”
“Um…no. But thanks for asking.”

Earlier this evening:
“Mummy, you can’t go to work EVER AGAIN. Because I said no. I leave you. I lonely and sad. You mustn’t go to work. There’s a big smelly shark. And you can’t go to work ever again.”

2 thoughts on “Mummy’s boy

  1. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    I’m trying to identify the ‘big smelly shark’ – several possibilities, particularly since we are so close to government buildings.

Leave a Reply

