Pronunciation meme

Dot writes: here’s a meme I’ve been meaning to do for a bit, which I’m copying from If By Yes. With a slight feeling of shock I notice that she posted it a month ago, which illustrates the pace of my blogging at the moment.

Questions:

Your name and/or username
Where you’re from
The following words: Aunt, Roof, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting Image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught, Orange, Coffee, Direction, Naturally, Aluminum, Herbs.
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house? [on the night before Halloween?]
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Footnote: watching this, I can hear faint notes of kiwi in places (e.g. in ‘pronunciation’), which must be Ken’s influence.

Credit: Ken did the clever stuff and got the video out of Photobooth, into iMovie, and thence into Youtube. I twizzled my hair and ate yoghurt.

6 thoughts on “Pronunciation meme

    1. kenanddot

      I’ve only lived in Ireland since 2006. I think at times I do take on an Irish inflection, but it’s more a question of intonation than vowel quality, and it’s very context-dependent (i.e. I only notice myself doing it when I’m talking to Irish people).

  1. Murray

    I was surprised to discover that that I say most of the words as Dot does, being a kiwi with some Canadian undertones. One exception was “Caramel” which I pronounce as Cara-mill. I expected to say “Aluminium” differently to Dot, but like her I say Alum-in-ium. I had thought that RP was something like Al-you-min-ium (which I detest!)

  2. Katimum

    I notice that you put ‘Daddy Long Legs’ as the long legged spider. Actually, I think what you would call a DLL is properly a crane fly, not a spider at all. There is a spider like creature which is fond of living in our bathroom (we are a very spider friendly house) which I would call a Harvester, though scientifically I believe it is not a true spider. Otherwise, the spider with the longest legs I would expect to be a Tarantula – but as the rest of them is pretty big, the legs don’t appear specially long.

Leave a Reply

