Puzzled by models

Dot writes: in the free paper this morning there was a little item the details of which – the names and crucial stuff like that – have now trickled from my sieve-like brain, but it was something like this: some researchers in Italy have argued that it’s a mistake to move away from using size zero models because it encourages obesity. When I was trying to dig up this story on the internet just now, and failing, I realised that there is nothing new I could possibly say about this issue (though I do feel compelled to add my voice to those pointing out that “plus-size” is not obese – size 12 counts as “plus-size”, for goodness sake). But it occurs to me that it’s been a long time since I related images of models to myself in any way at all. I suppose when I was younger I looked at the pretty people wearing nice clothes in magazines like Mizz and felt inferior. But these days they just seem like a different breed altogether, especially the catwalk models who always seem to be made to wear their fringes over their eyes and a dress in the shape of a fridge. Are those women? Are those clothes? Not from the perspective of someone who goes shopping twice a year to buy emergency cardigans in M & S, anyway. Is this maturity?

4 thoughts on “Puzzled by models

  1. Katimum

    Somewhere I read that a) Dress designers tend to be gay men b) that they are really trying to design dresses for teenage boys. No idea if any of it is true! I do agree that so many ‘designer’ dresses look dreadful in themselves. There is a dress shop next to the office which delights in having everything crumpled, lop sided and the colour of faded potato sack. It is of course hideously expensive and the clothes have the reputation of falling apart with very little provocation. But they stay in business. Why?

    1. Ken

      The ‘blame the poofters’ theory just sounds too neat. Another one I heard is that skinny models look more like coat hangers so the clothes look better on them.
      The odd thing is that skinny models aren’t attractive to most men. So if teenage girls try to emulate them, it’s not to attract men but maybe to be perceived as attractive by other teenage girls.

  2. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    Personally, I wish Rubens were alive and designing. There is a man who understood and appreciated a shape to which I can relate.

  3. Katimum

    Further ‘thin model’ theories I have heard are that a) thinness is only valued in societies where there is plenty of food – if it is generally in short supply, being fat is then the status symbol to have! b)thin models mean less material is used in making the clothes so they can afford better fabric and there is less waste if it goes wrong.
    I loved wearing tudor clothes because they are so much kinder to the well endowed.

Leave a Reply

