Sweet spirit of fearless freedom

Dot writes: I’ve just received a notice that Aung San Suu Kyi is to be conferred with an honorary LLD by Trinity College during her visit to Dublin. The college press release includes the text and a paraphrase of a Latin oration in her praise that will be delivered at the conferral by the college’s Public Orator. I’m posting the link here because I think it’s wonderful, first, that we have a Public Orator who gives Latin orations at all, and, second, that one has license to be so much more poetic and encomiastic in a Latin speech than one could ever be in an English one.

Announcement and oration text

4 thoughts on “Sweet spirit of fearless freedom

  1. laura

    Wow! I have followed the details of her “house arrest.” Good that she’s getting recognition in Latin and otherwise.

  2. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    A noble address to a noble woman, and congratulations to Professor Chahaud, who is, I believe, the first woman to be our public orator.

    1. kenanddot

      I was pleased too that Prof. Chahoud would be delivering the speech.

      Btw, I haven’t gone through all of it, but judging by the end my impression is that the paraphrase really is quite loose. I assume Anna Chahoud wrote both of them – I think she was having a lot of fun.

  3. Helen Conrad-O'Briain

    Yes, but I suppose she is also shifting to handle more modern expectations.
    What time is the conferral? – I’m thinking of throwing on the gown and going out at least to wave a scarf or something.

Leave a Reply

