Scotland

Ken writes:

Ireland is a fantastic place to live but part of my heart belongs to Scotland. I’m half Scottish, so perhaps it is partly genetic. When I first lived in Scotland (2004-6) I honestly felt at home. I particularly liked the weather (can that be true?). There’s just something right and wholesome about the cold clear crisp days you get in Scotland in winter. They have a stillness and silence to them that soothes the soul. (I won’t post a picture here of snow capped Scottish peaks, because that would be too obvious and anyway it’s not just the mountains that are gorgeous). The day time sky with its ever-changing patterns of cloud and light is really amazing. I’m so pleased my MSc course has taken me back to Scotland again.

3 thoughts on “Scotland

  1. mairij

    I’ll never forget those delicious oat cakes we had when I visited. And I’ve still got the lovely Wee Book of Calvin that you gave me.

    1. kenanddot

      I’m munching my way through loads of oatcakes in Edinburgh. I’m pleased you like that book. We have a copy too. It’s very funny, isn’t it.

  2. mairij

    I have very fond memories of my short visit to Cupar. It stands out in my mind as one of the highlights of the last 10 years.

    I guess one difference between Ireland and Scotland is that there’s a bit more harshness to Scotland; the weather is harsher and the religion is harsher. I’m over-generalising, but I see the Irish genius most clearly in its music and stories, and the Scottish genius in engineering and science (James Baird, James Watt, Alexander Graham Bell, Alexander Fleming and the list goes on.)

Leave a Reply

