Happy birthday to me

Dot writes: I always seem to be at a conference on Ken’s birthday, so he’s cleverly arranged this year to be at a craft brewing and distilling convention on mine. I expect we will do something vaguely birthday-ish as a family tomorrow. However, today I celebrated by taking the boys to Powerscourt and eating lovely cake in the cafe there. The weather has been staggeringly warm and sunny for several weeks and today was no exception. It is officially an excellent summer; in fact, we’re probably well into the phew-it’s-too-hot-and-what-about-the-plants stage now. Bask.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The umbrella being pressed into service as a parasol in the last picture was a little present to myself, bought at the British Museum on Wednesday in a few hours stolen from a conference I was attending.

I’ve been trying to think when we last went to Powerscourt. I can’t actually remember an occasion since the one pictured below (13 September 2009). Hugh is the little blue figure going down the steps and Frank is the very large bump.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me

  1. laura

    Wow! Did someone give you those gigantic children for a gift! The boys really have grown since I last saw them. Happy Birthday, Dot!

    1. kenanddot

      I suppose I could say Ken gave them to me for a gift, or maybe I gave them to him. Certainly they’ve been growing furiously this year, especially Frank. It’s an inconvenient thing that children do, especially when one is silly enough to feed them:-)

Leave a Reply

