In which Dot finds she has a future as Norman Bates’s mum

Dot writes: Hugh likes to become sad and tell me how much he loves me. He is melancholy about my absence from his school sports day (I had to meet the Vice-President of Memorial University, Newfoundland, but I still feel guilty). He wants to be assured that I will continue to live with him after he gets married. (I tell him I will if he wants me to. That seems safe.) Also, he talks quite a lot about my death. I rather wish he wouldn’t.

A couple of nights ago he told me that, if I died early, he would put my grave in his bedroom and sleep next to it. He would go out to earn money and use that money to buy me breakfast, dinner and lunch. “And maybe God will help you eat them.”

3 thoughts on “In which Dot finds she has a future as Norman Bates’s mum

    1. kenanddot

      Yes. It’s a good thing he’s a real child and not in a movie or book or anything, because if he were it wouldn’t be a good omen for the plot to come.

      Nice to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

