Comparison

Portmarnock Beach, 9 July 2014
Portmarnock Beach, 9 July 2014
The same rocks, 7th April 2015
The same rocks, 7th April 2015. My mum in stripes.

Dot writes: It’s a little hard to be sure because the pictures are taken from different angles, but it certainly looked to me when we were there as though the winter storms must have dumped a load of extra sand on Portmarnock beach. That large rock in the foreground seems much more buried now.

My mum is visiting. The sun is shining. I worked in the morning and then we went to the beach. It’s suddenly warm enough for the boys to run around making sand-castles in their underpants. (That is, run around in their underpants making sand-castles.) I paddled in the sea and it was cold but exquisitely clear.

20150407_160501 20150407_165447

2 thoughts on “Comparison

  1. Mairi Jay

    An interesting comparison. Yes, I think you would be right that there is more sand on the beach. I’ve noticed the Whanganui beach can change quite dramatically over time and it isn’t always due to a storm. Lovely to see the boys enjoying the sun and sand.

    1. Dot

      I guess ‘shifting sands’ is a bit of a cliche, isn’t it? But it really did look different. The boys are hardy. Mum and I kept our fleeces on!

Leave a Reply

